Living Life

The book “The Ethics of Ambiguity” by Simone de Beauvoir has provided us with multiple perspectives of thinking and for me, many questions. My attention was really grasped on a theme when we had to do the assignment questions 28. In the questions, Dr. Absher had us interpret a quote from Beauvoir. The quote was:

“Today must also exist before being confirmed in its existence: it exists only as an engagment and a commitment.” (Page 83).

Now, everyone who reads this quote can have a different way of interpreting it. For me, I interpreted it as you have to live today before it can be a part of your past. Before you live the day, the day is just there. It is almost like an acquaintance rather than a friend you have for life. When the day is over, it will stay with you for the rest of your life no matter how eventful or uneventful it may be.

When I was reading and thinking about this, I tried to put it into the perspective of my own life as best as I could. In a few weeks, I will be 21. That means I have had well over 7,000 days in my life and most of them I do not remember. Even though we live out all of these days we do not remember, the days where something eventful happened will remain in our memory for the rest of our lives. These memories can be good or bad, and we have all had our fair share of each. One day that I will never forget is the day that my niece, Sophia, was born. When my sister told us she was pregnant it was a surprise to everyone. I was excited, but I never thought in a million years that my niece would turn into my best friend. Before I knew it, nine months flew by and it would be any day that Sophia would be born. On July 8, 2013, at around 3:30am, my sister came up to my room to tell me that she was on her way to the hospital. Me being half asleep disregarded everything that she had to say. At around 8am, I decided to go up to the hospital. I waited, and waited, and waited for what felt like forever. Eighteen hours later, at 9:18 pm, Sophia was born. Twenty minutes after she made her arrival I was able to hold her. This is a moment that I will never forget. I looked down at her and my heart melted. From that moment on I knew I had a best friend for life. Over the five years, she has been in my life, we have grown closer and closer. We go shopping together, do homework together, and our favorite, watch Netflix together. She has basically become my little mini-me.

fullsizeoutput_13d8

Connecting my store back to the quote, every day that I have lived has been a part of my existence. It has been a part of my life. I have lived these days out, and most of them I do not even remember. They are a part of my past, but not a very memorable part. The days that I can remember vividly are the days that really helped shape me into who I truly am. The day my niece was born, the day I lost a loved one, my last day of high school, my first day of college, and all the days in between. These days have all been a part of my life, existence, and past.

Thank you for reading my blog. Feel free to leave comments! 🙂

One thought on “Living Life

  1. Hi Gabrielle!
    What a great post! I love how you connected Beauvoir’s idea of existence to your own life. I also like how you interpreted it. I agree that in order to reminisce the past, we must live in the present, as you do with your niece. It is crazy to think about what we have done with the mere 7,000 days we have been alive. In that time we have learned to walk and read, and not to mention go to college! I have had enjoyed 20 Christmas mornings and thanksgiving feasts spent with family. Your post really reminded me of how important is is to live in the present so that we can have those memories to look back on!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment